Additional airports available for travellers from low-risk areas

01 Apr 2021

Scott Tilyard, Deputy State Controller

An additional five airports in Tasmania have been approved for arrivals of travellers from low-risk areas, Deputy State Controller Scott Tilyard said today.

Mr Tilyard said the approval of the additional regional airports would benefit local communities while maintaining the current border restriction requirements.

“We are aware of the important role that local airports play for regional centres enabling direct access to the mainland for both businesses and tourists,” he said.

“Previously we have only been allowing arrivals via seven airports in the State as part of our border restrictions.

“However by working with the Department of Primary Industries, Parks, Water and Environment we have been able to expand our entry requirements system to cover arrivals from low-risk areas at:

  • Smithton Airport
  • Bridport Airport
  • Strahan Airport
  • St Helens Aerodrome
  • Barnbougle Airstrip

Mr Tilyard said requirements are in place for the use of the additional airports as part of current border requirements which include:

  • The airports can only be used for low-risk arrivals
  • All passengers and crew must register their travel through the Tas e-Travel system
  • 24 hours notice of arrival and flight and passenger details must be provided to Biosecurity Tasmania if the flight details are not publicly available.
  • Approval is required from Biosecurity Tasmania as to whether the flight can proceed.
  • Passengers and crew will be directly contacted by Biosecurity Tasmania as part of the arrival process.

Mr Tilyard said all entry requirements for people from low, medium and high risk areas remain in place. This includes all travellers from low-risk areas being required to register their travel prior to entry through the Tas e-Travel system.  Whilst travellers who have been in a medium- or high-risk area in the 14 days prior to their arrival are required to register via the G2G pass system prior to entry. Conditions such as quarantine and other requirements also remain in place for travellers who are provided approval to enter the State from medium or high risk areas.